Pride and Prejudice (1995) Episode 3

Pride and Prejudice

Screen Adaptation – 1995

Episode 3

 

Directed by Simon Langton.

 

Elizabeth goes to Kent to visit Charlotte, and meets Lady Catherine de Bourgh. Darcy also makes his offer to Elizabeth, and the episode ends just after he walks out the door.

Like the previous episodes, this one follows the content of the book without any deviation. I am happy that they didn’t stick too many unnecessary scenes into this episode.

I have to say I am pleasantly surprised with the casting of Colonel Fitzwilliam. He fits the character perfectly. I also like the way Jane’s stay in London was portrayed. In this episode there is a lot less Mrs. Bennet, Kitty, Lydia and Mary, and I am happy because it means that I can cringe less. The only thing I didn’t like were the disastrous cross fades and floating heads. When the characters are thinking, their thoughts “materialize” on-screen. I don’t know if this was a common practice in the 90’s?

I feel that Elizabeth is a lot muted in this adaptation than the original character in the book. This observation comes from the fact that she has been quiet and subdued in the first three episodes. I think Elizabeth is a lively character, with a quickness and cleverness the other characters do not possess. Yet, in this adaption I am missing that.

Darcy’s language does not match his exterior appearance during the proposal. At some points I feel that he is just delivering the lines, without feeling anything. Maybe his acting is too subtle. On the other hand, I was pleasantly surprised by Elizabeth’s reaction.

Despite again being 55 minutes, I feel that this episode was a lot shorter than the previous ones. Maybe because there was a lot less skipping and dancing. Again, I don’t think that this is because of any improvement on the filmmaker’s part – the plot is simply getting more interesting.

Let’s hope that the next part of this series follows suit.

Leave a Reply

