Your Name

“Your Name”

Directed by Makoto Shinkai

Released in 2016.

 

This is a Japanese animated film, about a boy and a girl who swap bodies through time, eventually falling in love and helping each other.

I watched this film as everyone who saw it had recommended it. I watched the Japanese dubbed version (so, the original version) with English subtitles. Sometimes the English dub can take away from the film, so I thought it best not to risk it… I wanted to be able to enjoy it.

Bearing that in mind, I found it really frustrating to watch. I get that time travel is confusing and its fragmented, but there are a lot of things in this film that are suggested and I don’t think I would have been able to understand it all if my friend didn’t help me along with some hints.

I didn’t know when the characters were swapping bodies until the middle of the film. There was a lot of humour in this film, but I felt it was sapped out by the long songs… there was at least three in the film. (All somewhat melodramatic) These felt like a placeholder – they didn’t help me understand the plot further, they just created a ‘romantic’ atmosphere.

There were some plot cliche’s in this film, but it wasn’t too bad because I really enjoyed the characters and their interaction. It was frustrating towards the end because I got to the point where I just wanted the two protagonists to be together (which I expected they would from the beginning) and the film was stalling. It made me feel anxious.

It was an enjoyable film, although it did leave me with a couple of questions? One of the main ones is, why wasn’t this film just shot in live action? It makes me wonder why the producers opted for an animated film…

“Your Name” was a good film, and I recommend it to fans of romance and time travel.

Leave a Reply

