Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

“​Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children”

Directed by Tim Burton.
Released in 2016. 

This is a film based on a book of the same title written by Ransom Riggs.
Jake (Asa Butterfield) is a teenager who doesn’t quite fit in. He goes to his grandfather’s house, only to find out that his grandfather has been killed by some creature. His parents take him to a therapist, who suggests that Jake confronts his memories of his grandfather by visiting his old orphanage. Jake then travels with his father to Wales, where Jake meets Miss Peregrine and the peculiar children. He soon finds out that they are in danger, and he must save them.

I was thoroughly surprised by this film. Even amongst Tim Burton’s work, this is an entire new level of dark. There is a constant feeling of impending doom, and I thought it was really scary. There is once scene in particular that made me shiver; when Jake meets Victor. 

The powers that the children have are also really frightening… and not at all childlike. There were some that were innocent enough, but there are others that are absolutely deadly. I found this film really frightening, especially the design of the characters. Hardcore horror fans can laugh at me, I suppose it’s not that scary… but I still found it frightening.

As with most of Burton’s work, one doesn’t really know what to expect, so when you’re watching it I’m sure you’ll enjoy the many twists and turns. The acting is great, the costumes are fantastic, and I like the film despite the goosebumps.

I would not recommend this film to young children… I think it’s far too scary. Teenagers and young adults should be fine, though. It’s a really interesting film, even though I probably won’t be watching it again because I’m a scaredly cat.

Leave a Reply

