Absence

My aim when starting this blog was to write something every day. Clearly that didn’t happen. One of the main reasons is my university work took over. I was writing my thesis for quite some time. Although now that I’ve finished my degree, I don’t really have any excuse for not writing anymore. To get back into the swing of things, I decided to do some book reviews.

I have been reading these two books on and off for quite some time, and I want to finally finish writing about them. It took me months to finish one, ‘The Casual Vacancy’, by J.K. Rowling. It took months because I didn’t have the time to read, but also, because this was one of those books that I didn’t really feel any need to finish. It wasn’t my cup of tea. Yet I am trying to get into a mindset where I WILL finish reading books, even if I don’t like them. I don’t like to start things and then leave them unfinished.

Which is why, eventually, I will post a book review of ‘The Shadow of the Wind’. I read a fragment of this book and for some reason I didn’t finish it. I didn’t own it until a couple of years ago… I initially read it in a library. So maybe that’s why. I want to finish it now. It feels like a literary milestone I have to overcome. I don’t believe that book is anything special, but it has been haunting me – unfinished.

I have to finish one last book before I get started on that one though, ‘Why Don’t Penguin’s Feet Freeze?’ The eye catching title is what got my attention… and that’s about it. What a great way to start writing again – posting reviews about books I wasn’t particularly keen on. Hopefully it will get better. Eventually. (Both in terms of my posting frequency, and my posts being slightly more positive) So. Without further ado. J.K. Rowling’s ‘The Casual Vacancy’.


[Next Post]

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

